• Fri. Jul 1st, 2022

Physio Kamlesh Jain joins Indian team’s support staff ahead of South Africa’s T20Is

ByJulie J. Helfer

Jun 7, 2022

He replaces Nitin Patel who was transferred to the NCA.

Indian cricket team. (Photo source: Twitter/BCCI)

Kamlesh Jain, a former member of the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) support staff, has been named the India team’s physio. He replaced Nitin Patel who was with the team until their last assignment. He transferred to the National Cricket Academy (NCA) in Bengaluru. Kamlesh also worked as head physical therapist for KKR during his 10-year association with the franchise. He joined the Indian team on Monday June 6 in New Delhi where the first T20I between India and South Africa is to be played.

The team led by KL Rahul trained for nearly three hours at Arun Jaitley Stadium. Jain’s appointment as India’s physio was also reported earlier and the BCCI sources confirmed to Cricbuzz much the same after joining the team in the nation’s capital.

As for the T20I series, the two teams will travel to Cuttack (June 12), Vizag (June 14) and Rajkot (June 17) before the tour wraps up on June 19 in Bengaluru.

Rahul Dravid won’t leave for England with the Test squad

Meanwhile, it has also been reported that the head coach of the Indian team Rahul Dravid will not leave for England with the Test team on June 16. He will oversee the entire South African series and then walk away with KL Rahul, Rishabh Pant and Shreyas Iyer who are also part of the T20I squad. Additionally, some of the current support staff will also leave on June 16 while NCA staff will assist Dravid for the remainder of the South African series.

Ahead of the England tour, India are also set to play two T20 internationals against Ireland on June 24-26. The selectors are expected to name a different team for this series, with the Test team already in England to feature in the fifth Test from July. 1 in Birmingham. The BCCI have already confirmed that former Indian cricketer and current NCA chief VVS Laxman will take over as head coach of the Irish tour.