• Thu. May 19th, 2022

PCB Rewards Cash Prize to National Players and Support Staff at Ceremony in Lahore

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) honored the national players and support staff with a huge cash prize.

On Friday, PCB held a ceremony titled “PCB Honors Its Heroes and Stars” at the end of the building of the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore.

Pakistani Players Received Cash Prize of 15,000,00 PKR – Reports

PCB Chairman Ramiz Raja (right) with Pakistani national team skipper Babar Azam. Credits: Pakistan Cricket/Twitter

According to a report by Cricket Pakistan, the players received a cash prize of PKR 15,000.00 while the support staff received between PKR 2,000.00 and PKR 10,000.00. All awards were presented by PCB Chairman, Ramiz Raja.

“Appreciation and accolades are important in boosting player motivation. Take a look at the highlights from the ceremony where players were presented with awards for their top notch performances in 2021 by Chairman PCB,” tweeted Pakistan Cricket from his official username.

The Pakistani team managed by Babar-Azam have played nine Tests, six ODIs and 29 T20I matches in the calendar year 2021.

Pakistan topped the ICC T20 World Cup 2021 Group 2 standings by winning all of their group stage matches. Pakistan beat India by 10 wickets in their opening game in Dubai.

It was the first time that a Pakistani team had won against its neighbors in a World Cup match. Prior to this win, Pakistan had lost 12 times to India in ODI and T20 World Cup matches.

However, Pakistan failed to win the World T20 title despite their formidable run in the tournament as they were knocked out by eventual champions Australia in the second round of the semi-final.

Mohammad Rizwan named 2021 Cricketer of the Year

Pakistani wicketkeeper batter Mohammad Rizwan, who scored 1,915 runs in any format, the most by any batter in 2021, won Best Cricketer of the Year at the 2021 PCB Awards.

PCB President Ramiz Raja (right) with Pakistani player Mohammad Rizwan. Credits: Pakistan Cricket/Twitter

Rizwan was also unanimously selected by an independent jury as T20I Cricketer of the Year by PCB.

Skipper Babar won ODI Cricketer of the Year while Hasan Ali won Test Cricketer of the Year for taking 41 wickets from eight Tests.

Mohammad Wasim Jr was named Emerging Cricketer of the Year for his 45 wickets in 2021, including 15 wickets in his first year in international cricket.

Read also: PCB set to appoint foreign coach as Saqlain Mushtaq steps down as Pakistan’s interim head coach